The William Hill PDC World Darts Championship

The William Hill PDC World Darts Championship is a darts tournament organised by the PDC (Professional Darts Corporation).
It's one of the two World Professional Darts Championships held annually in the sport of darts.
The other, BDO World Darts Championship, tournament is organised by the BDO (British Darts Organisation).

The tournament is sponsored by bookmaker Wiliam Hill and his held at Alexandra Palace in London.
Winners of the William Hill PDC World Darts Championship receive the Sid Waddell Trophy, named in honour of the legendary darts commentator Sid Waddell, who died in 2012.

Started in 1994 as the WDC World Darts Championship but later named to the PDC World Darts Championship.
This due to World Darts Council break away from the BDO. As a result of the settlement between the BDO and the WDC in 1997, the WDC became the PDC.

Players are now free to choose which championship they want to enter, however not both in the same year and as long as they meet certain eligibility criteria.

The current PDC champion is Micheal van Gerwen.